Rolling out the welcome mat…Red Carpet…whatever!

It’s amazing.

After a few clicks of the mouse, I’m now a PUBLISHED author!  Ha Ha!

Well, here we are, just like Dorothy in Munchkinland, starting to take her first steps on the Yellow Brick Road.  As Glinda said, “It’s always best to start at the beginning,” and so here it is…a new beginning.

Whoever said that without the written word, we humans are simply existing without purpose had it right, I think.  I have always had the urge to write, but life has been without purpose for so long that I really am not sure how to start.  Do I begin at the VERY beginning or do I simply use today as a springboard and a jumping-off point and fill in the gaps as I go?  I suppose THAT would be the very best and simplest way to commence.

So, “who is this guy?,” you may ask.  The answer isn’t all that elementary.  Like so many others in the world, I have a timeline which hasn’t terminated yet.  That’s a good thing, since I have been so lazy getting my thoughts down on paper (or is this virtual paper?) and exposing myself for who I am, where I’ve been, what I am doing now and what I hope for and long to achieve.

The short version is easy:  I am a professional travel safety expert (don’t laugh, all you lawyers and doctors and successful businessmen out there — as your Flight Attendant on your flight, you know damned well that all of you will be looking for direction from ME in case of an emergency — I can deal with the attitudes you throw out at me when I inform you that I’ve run out of steak and your choice is chicken or nothing!), trained in my field for the last 12 years and I love what I do (to a point).

I have begun work on a book for the average traveler; a guide book, of sorts, that will help sort out the “ins-and-outs” of traveling around the globe these days.  I have visited many fantastic places around the world, including Tokyo, Frankfurt, Tahiti, London, Seoul, and Sao Paulo.  My favorite, by far, is Sydney, Australia.  I have some sort of connection with Australia — not sure what it is, but some day I’ll share a funny story about it!

I live in the Rocky Mountains (Utah, to be exact, and yes — that is by choice!).  It is beautiful here and it feels like home base whenever I return from my travels to spend a few days of unwinding and detoxifying myself from the pressures of flying to all four corners of the globe.

I am an avid gardener, have learned a few tricks in the yard that perhaps I will share here, and my passion is my beautiful, young rose garden.  I will post photos throughout the year as I expand on my thoughts and feelings about getting your hands dirty in the garden!

I feel that this entire experience will awaken something inside me to really strive to improve myself and help others along the way.  Sometimes, I may get philosophical, emotional, deep.  Other times I hope to share the whimsical, beautiful and inspiring.  No matter what I use this forum for, I hope it won’t be boring or simply dreadful.  I like to express my soul in the written form and I invite you all to come along for the ride!  My “E-Ticket” ride!

Cheers!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Susan on January 20, 2010 at 8:03 am

    Rock on, John! I’m a late starter in reading your blog (by 4 posts) but I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Not sure what it is about our family’s genes that lead everyone to try writing. Some of us are better than others and to tell the truth, your one of the better ones. I look forward to reading more of your insights.
    Some commments along the way:

    Yeah! what’s the deal with the way they ended Glee! We have to salivate all the way til September?? I think not!! I say we take those SOBs out back and beat the (bleep) outta them. Oh wait but then we will never know what’s gonna happen….oh well…

    I LOVE (x’s 3) Project Runway!! Its one of my favs. I just want to hug Tim Gunn every time I see him. What’s the deal with the Chinese lady….too much opium?

    How come you guys get fresh air? We still have an inversion up there. Stupid Utah Countiers! Blast you all…

    I love the subtitle of your blog….Is there any other kind? Probably not. LOL

    Reply

  2. Posted by Michael Contorno on January 20, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    John,

    Very nice blog, an easy read and I thoroughly enjoyed it, please keep it up!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mirian Meitz on February 1, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    Hi how are you i really liked this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

